top of page
jennweiss

Great Way to Save Art Images to 300 DPI For Print Purposes

Hi Guys,


Happy New Year!


I wanted to share a tip on a topic that I have struggled with and found a solution to which I think can help someone else out there. It has to do with converting DPI sizes. I create a lot of digital art on my IPAD using the Procreate and IDraw apps.


Below are the pictures of the App Icons in case you are unfamiliar with them.









The problem started when I decided to explore putting my art on products through a new manufacturing vendor. During this process, I realized that my art images needed to be a certain DPI size in order to be uploaded into the vendor's system. Unfortunately, most of my images have a DPI size that is very small and not great for printing. I began to realize that the problem stemmed from the fact that Procreate requires that you set the image DPI size when you initially create a piece of artwork and does not offer a way to change the DPI size after that.


Since the new manufacturing vendor requires a DPI size of 300 or greater, I was really stuck. I had created such beautiful art work that I wanted to use but couldn't find a way to do it. It was frustrating but I was determined to find an answer!


I think it's important to point out what DPI is because I didn't understand this word when I first saw it. In digital photo terms, DPI stands for Dots Per Inch which technically means printer dots per inch.


My next step was to try to figure out where I could find a tool to help me increase my file sizes. I don't own Adobe Illustrator or Photoshop and these are the best tools to use for quickly changing image sizes but they are expensive. I decided to search for free online tools to help me with this file conversion but I couldn't find anything out there that worked. I also didn't want to invest in a tool that required me to pay a subscription fee.


At that point, I decided to go back to Procreate and IDraw to see if there was another way to do this and luckily enough I found my answer.


Here is how i figured out how to convert DPI sizes quickly and easily. First, open up Procreate and select and share the image you want and save it as an image to your IPAD. Then you can open up IDraw and import that image from your photo library into IDraw. Once it's in IDraw, then you can select the image, share it and IDraw will take you to a screen where you can select a DPI size prior to the image being exported. My Procreate images were typically set to 72 DPI and I was able to change this to 300 DPI easily. Once the size is changed then you can continue exporting to the app of your choice. I usually select Dropbox because that is where I like to store my files.


Well again, I hope that this tip can help someone who is struggling with this topic like I was. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to me via my contact page. I will get back to you quickly.


Have a great weekend everyone!

Jen





0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page