top of page
jennweiss

Developing Colored Pencil Drawings into Paintings

I recently started working in a new medium, colored pencils on paper, which I am gaining momentum with. I have been creating drawings on 9" x 12" recycled acid free sketch paper and over the past 6 months, I have produced in the neighborhood of 25 to 30 drawings. Below is small subset of those drawings.


What inspired me to move towards this medium is that I spent the month of July down at the Jersey Shore more specifically Normandy Beach where I have a summer home. I found myself on the beach a lot and I prefer spending beach time being creative rather than reading a book.


I had bought myself a box of good colored pencils the summer before and I realized that it was really easy to pop my metal box of colored pencils, a sharpener and a sketch book into my beach bag and head up to the beach.


The beauty of colored pencils is that you can bring them anywhere easily. I like to draw wherever I can like on the beach, on the train, waiting for my daughter's soccer game to start, etc.


As a result, I spent hours on the beach this summer drawing outside surrounded by nature and listening to my favorite music with my air pods. It was a dream and I just let me creative juices flow!


I like colored pencils beacuse of the variety of colors I have at hand in any given moment and the ability there is to create depth by applying pressure to the pencil. This is something you can't do with paint so it allowed me to express myself in a new way. I also like the ability that I have to mix colors which I am going to dabble more into in the future.


Since I can produce a lot of these drawings quickly, I have started to select my favorites and make them into paintings. Here is an example below of my "Looking Glass" drawing which I developed into a 24" x 18" acrylic painting. Below is a side by side of the drawing and painting.


All of my art is available to view and purchase on my website at www.jennifermrozekweiss.com
















Comments


bottom of page